Exploring Polymer clay and loving it!


Now that the Holidays are over, it’s time to get back to working on new Handmade creations and challenging myself to do more and more new stuff. Right now, I am exploring Polymer clay and loving it. The cold porcelain was great but had so many limitaions that I switched over to the polymer. Recently I made a dragon brooch for my dear sister.

I had so much fun creating this one that I decided to make another brooch with embedded pearls and crystals to see how that would work out. I must say I really do love that look alot. I did find that I needed to reinforce some of the Polymer dragon broochleaves for strength and wish that I had done the same on this dragons hair as well. Live and learn I guess. That’s what it’s all about. Learning new techniques and gaining knowledge with each design.

Polymer clay brooch

  I just love Peacocks and created this necklace over the Christmas holiday. Love the color and working with my hands. I had intended on adding some crystals to this piece but figured it was already over the top and didn’t truly need anything more.

I know there are molds out there for polymer clay but I love designing and creating without the use of molds. I believe it gives a much more handmade feel and uniqueness to my creations.

At the time I created these, I had no real tools to use. A toothpick and a pocket knife came in pretty handy though. My darling husband bought me some wonderful carving tools for Christmas and I can’t wait to use them. I think I will be able to get much more detail now and have tons more fun too!
 
My current design is a work in progress and I plan on photographing it as I go along. So far, I’ve gotten the head of this lion created and in the oven to bake. I’ll add the mane next and then see where the design goes from there. I have a plan for it but am not sure I can get it to work out as I expect it to.
 
Stay tuned for more updates and photos as I create one of a kind pieces to share with you. I’ll be adding new content to my website soon as well so be sure to stop by there too.  Have a wonderful Creative day!! 

Handmade Polymer clay peacock necklace

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

